Monroe County Sheriff
Phone: 660-327-4060
Fax: 660-327-5188

Jail Information
Jail Phone Information
Inmate Commissary
Civil Service
Inmate Lookup
Contact Us

Missouri Sheriff's Association
Missouri Sheriff's Association
Web Site

Missouri State Highway Patrol
Missouri State Highway Patrol
Troop B
Web Site

Children's Division Hotline
Web Site

Web Site

Montgomery County

On January, 6, 1831 the General Assembly of Missouri created the new county of Monroe.  In the same year the site now occupied by Paris, Missouri was selected as the county seat.  Josephus Fox, deeded the county part of the land upon which the town of Paris was built.  The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office was established in 1831 with Sheriff William Runkle being the first Sheriff in the county.
On November 19th, 1831, the county appropriated $3,100 for a courthouse and $100 for a jail.  It was completed in 1835 but was destroyed by fire 25 years later.  The present courthouse was built in 1912 at a cost of $100,000 and was completed in 1913. 
Monroe County was, and still is, mainly an agricultural community.  Today Monroe County has a population of just under 10,000 people and is approximately 646 square miles in size.  In the late 1800’s Monroe County had approximately 22,000 residents and it was reported that another 20,000 would soon be needed to take full advantage of the fertile ground and climate that was ideal for raising livestock and cash crops. 
Today the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office consists of the Sheriff, seven full-time deputies, and several reserve deputies.  We work regularly with the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Missouri Park Rangers, the Missouri Department of Conservation, and the Monroe City Police Department, along with other state and federal agencies.  We also work with the Army Corps of Engineers and provide law enforcement services in and around the Mark Twain Lake area.  The Monroe County Sheriff’s Office is the primary law enforcement agency in the county with Monroe City being the only municipality with its own police department.  The Sheriff’s Office operates and maintains the jail facility for the county. 

Sheriff Joe Colston
Sheriff David Hoffman 2008-2020
Sheriff Gary Tawney 1993-2008
Sheriff Dean Mason 1965-1993
Sheriff Mark Bodine 1953-1965
Sheriff Russell Wilkes 1944-1953
Sheriff Mark Bodine 1941-1944
Sheriff Russell Wilkes 1937-1941
Sheriff Archie Comstock 1933-1937
Sheriff W.A. Patrick 1929-1933
Sheriff Horace Peak 1925-1929
Sheriff Harry Burton 1921-1925
Sheriff Ralph Nolen 1917-1921
Sheriff G.K. Lewis 1911-1917
Sheriff F.N. Nolen 1907-1911
Sheriff John W. Burton 1903-1907
Sheriff James W. Clark 1899-1903
Sheriff Robert. H. Smithey 1897-1899
Sheriff James T. Umstattd 1893-1897
Sheriff C. Snell 1887-1893
Sheriff James T. Umstattd 1884-1887
Sheriff James A. Jackson 1880-1884
Sheriff R.F. West 1878-1880
Sheriff G.W. Walker 1876-1878
Sheriff F.L. Pitts 1872-1876
Sheriff William Ownby 1870-1872
Sheriff James Ownby 1866-1870
Sheriff E.G.B. McNutt 1862-1866
Sheriff John C. McBride 1860-1862
Sheriff Preston Swinney 1856-1860
Sheriff Marion Biggs 1852-1856
Sheriff Daniel M. Dulaney 1848-1852
Sheriff Joel Maupin 1844-1848
Sheriff Thomas Crutcher 1840-1844
Sheriff Thomas Pool 1836-1840
Sheriff Pleasant Ford 1832-1836
Sheriff William Runkle 1831-1832


Monroe County Sheriff's Office © 2015300 North Main Street Paris, Missouri 65275 | 660-327-4060 | Fax 660-327-5188